Creative Destruction

March 20, 2006

Bazzer’s inaugural post

Filed under: New Author — bazzer @ 2:04 pm

When Adam first approached me about starting a group blog, I thought it was a great idea. I’d had the thought myself for some time, but unlike Adam, I was too lazy to get off my ass and do something about it.

Building such a blog can be a challenge, but well worth it if successful. I’ve been fortunate enough to belong to some discussion groups in the past in which an array of sane, intelligent people with diverse opinions met to debate the issues of the day in an environment that was relatively free of partisan knife fights and namecalling. The board ultimately proved too unstable to endure over time, alas, but was much more stimulating and thought-provoking than the partisan echo chambers of the left and right.

I’ll be blogging here quasi-anonymously under the name “Bazzer.” When I began blogging a few years back, I did so under my own full name, because, well, why not? I figured I had nothing to hide. But then something unexpected and inexplicable happened — people started reading it. Consequently, I found myself subconsciously engaging in self-censorship. There were issues that I wished to discuss but did not feel free to do so as my blog became an open secret at my place of employment. I don’t wish to be hampered in that way when posting here.

So I guess I’ll follow Bob’s lead (nice to meet ya, BTW!) and say a few words about myself. (Now that I’ve established the need for anonymity, I’ll ruin it all by revealing enough information about myself so that anyone who knows me will recognize me. Ah well….)

I grew up in the South, lived abroad for a few years, and currently reside in the New York City area. I studied physics in college and received my Ph.D. in 1993 through what was no doubt a clerical error. I later left the field in favor of software development, which I’ve done for a living ever since. After five years in New York City, I now live across the river in Hudson County, New Jersey, with my wife and black lab. One of my many side ventures is developing computerized stock trading systems. Politically, I’m a small-l libertarian, liberal on social issues, but fairly conservative on the other stuff.

That’s it! My life in a nutshell. Thanks to Adam for inviting me here. Let’s get started.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

